Celebrating the Holidays with Jeff Cook

Celebrating The Holidays With Jeff Cook « LimeWire Music Blog

Make no mistake about it, Cook is very proud of his accomplishments with Alabama, but he’s also very excited about the music he has made since the group called it a day a few years back. Not long after Alabama’s last show together, he was back onstage with a new group, Jeff Cook and the Allstar Goodtime Band. “I actually started the new band the week after we did our last show. Actually, I couldn’t wait.”

The group has released several albums together, which have been well-received together, but Cook’s latest project is a solo project that focuses one of his favorite times of the year: Christmas time. Christmas Joy, his new musical offering for the holiday season, features some very special guests, as Cook tried to take a new approach with the record. “I tried to barely touch on anything that mentioned snow, because Alabama isn’t a big snow place, you know. I tried to pick songs that weren’t played to death every year. I was able to get a recording with the Ventures. Those guys have been together for about 50 years, and were put in the Rock and Roll hall of fame last year. I have my wife singing lead on a couple of things, ‘Away In A Manger’ and ‘Please Come Home For Christmas.’ I don’t think I’ve ever heard a woman do that song.”

Several of the songs on the album are ones that Cook is very familiar with, like the 1973 Merle Haggard classic “If We Make It Through December,” as well as “Homecoming Christmas,” which appeared on Alabama’s first Christmas platter back in 1985. That was written by Ronnie Rogers,” explains Cook. “He’s a great writer who did a lot for Alabama. I especially like the feel of this song, and I like the lead guitar riff I did in the middle of it.”

Leave a Reply

