(Simeon) Jeptha Spruiell

RootsWeb’s WorldConnect Project: Charles MacCawthon

# ID: I108855156
# Name: Jeptha SPRUIELL
# Given Name: Jeptha
# Surname: Spruiell
# Sex: M
# Birth: 1789 in Abbeville, South Carolina
# Death: 11 Oct 1873 in Talbot, Georgia
# Note:

Note: Last Will and Testament: Talbot Co., Georgia October 11, 1873:
I Jeptha Spruill, of said state and county, being of advanced age, I deem
it right and proper both as respect to my family and myself that a kind
providence has blessed me, I therefore make this my Last Will and
Testament hereby revoking all others heretofore made my me.
Item: I give, bequeath, and device to my wife, Mary F. Spruill 50 acres
of land, it being the north portion of my land, including the house and
the cross fence between the stubblefield and cornfield, also my horse
Charlie and one plow stock and appurtenances, one pair of plow gear, one
weeding hoe, side saddle, one sideboard wash stand, all of my chairs,
dining table, wash pot and cooking utensils, crockery and glassware,
kitchen ware, six bee gums such as she may choose, four shoats, one cow
known as “White Liser” and her calf. Also support for one year and corn
and provisions for her stock for one year. The above request is to her
during my wifes lifetime or her widowhood and in lieu of dower and at her
death to my children.
Item: I give and bequeath and device to my wife, Mary F. Spruill all the
bedding and other things whatsoever she brought with her when we were
married forever.
Item: Desire and direct that my executor, sell the residue of my
property, both real and personal, whereever and whatever it may be
privately or otherwise and the proceeds be equally divided between my
children, viz; Diademia Hughes, Savanah Turner, Amanda McDill, Margaret
E. Carmichael, George Spruill, William Spruill, John Spruill, and Arch
Spruill. I reserve one acre of land for eight years for Clarissa
Spruill, colored, including the house where she now lives. Also five
acres for one year to Silliam Spruill, colored, each of the cross fence
on the mountain.
Item: I hereby constitute and appoint John Pye executor of this my Last
Will and Testament this October 2, 1873.
Signed: Jeptha Spruill, His Mark
Witnesses; P. G. Britt, M. H. Ferguson, Sherrard Gray

Father: John Read SPRUILL b: 1745 in Abbeville, South Carolina
Mother: Sarah CASWELL b: 1745 in Abbeville, South Carolina

Marriage 1 UNKNOWN JESMINA

Marriage 2 Mary F. BELL

* Married: 7 Feb 1865 in Talbot, Georgia

Marriage 3 Mary F. MITCHELL b: 1793 in Abbeville, South Carolina

* Married: 1811 in Abbeville, South Carolina

Children

1. Has No Children William B. SPRUIELL b: 1812
2. Has Children John Simpson SPRUIELL b: 1817 in Abbeville, South Carolina
3. Has No Children Amanda SPRUIELL
4. Has No Children Archibald SPRUIELL
5. Has No Children Diademia SPRUIELL
6. Has No Children George SPRUIELL
7. Has No Children Margaret E. SPRUIELL
8. Has No Children Savanah SPRUIELL
9. Has No Children Susan SPRUIELL

Leave a Reply

